Maybelline New Matte Maker Powder| Review|

Maybelline Matte Maker Powder

Maybelline Matte Maker Swatch

Maybelline Matte Maker Powder and Ecotools brush

A few months ago numerous beauty blogs expressed their sadness over the discontinuation of Maybelline Dream Matte Powder. Then along came Maybelline Matte Maker. This product has been much buzzed about online and naturally I had to try it to see what all the fuss was about. Being loyal to Rimmel Stay Matte powder since I began using makeup in my early teens, it was high time I tried another powder.

Until recently I had very oily skin, but this has taken a U-turn and I find myself battling drier skin than usual. However, I still need a powder to combat shine and set my makeup. I absolutely love the name of this product, I’m a fool for catchy alliteration! The packaging itself is nothing spectacular. A clear plastic tub with black base and outline on the lid. I know a lot of people criticise the Rimmel plastic packaging aswel, it is easily scratched and dirtied but for the money I don’t expect a mirror and puff. I’ll admit, I prefer the Maybelline packaging to Rimmel’s. The black trim is more appealing to that of the Rimmel packaging. However, the main thing is that the product is easily accessible.

As to the powder itself, I bought this in a serious rush during a whirlwind 5 minute visit to Boots in Belfast with my cousin. I didn’t realise that this product came in different shades, I took it for granted that it was an overall translucent powder.  I picked up the shade 30 Natural Beige. This wasn’t a total disaster, as I’m so fair skinned and pale, anything with the word beige in it is usually not for me. Thankfully this wasn’t as dark as the name suggests. I haven’t had a chance to check in person but according to the Maybelline website there are 4 other shades available, with Natural Beige being the second lightest.

This is a great mattifying powder. Despite not paying attention to the shade, I really like that the powder adds extra but light coverage and colour. It is light on the skin and  easy to carry around and store in your makeup-bag. Like all powders, it is easily applied, I like to use my Eco-Tools fluffy big powder brush. The Matte Maker won’t weight down your skin, cake or cling to  any dry patches.

You can find this product at any Maybelline stand for £3.99 or €5.99.

One thought on “Maybelline New Matte Maker Powder| Review|

  1. Pingback: Revlon Colorstay Concealer|Review| | Vanessa Taaffe

What do you think? Leave a Reply

