Maybelline The Eraser Eye Concealer|Review|

Maybelline Eraser Eye Concealer

Maybelline The Eraser Concealer in Light. Swatch and sponge applicator

Maybelline The Eraser Eye Concealer

This concealer was almost impossible to get my hands on! The rave reviews and hype surrounding this product lead to an onslaught of people scouring local Boots, Superdrugs, Chemists and ASDA’s for this small bottle of concealer. I have to confess, I’m very disappointed with the shade range. On the Maybelline US site there are six different shades available. However, in Ireland and the UK there are only 2 shades on offer, ‘Light’ or ‘Nude’.

I have very fair skin so I purchased ‘Light’. The colour is quite dark and on occasion, it can look orange on the skin, which is sometimes noticeable on top of foundation. You can see in the picture where I have swatched this on the back of my hand that it’s a tad dark for me. When I use a MAC foundation the colour and orange tone is less noticeable as I find that my MAC foundation oxidises. Otherwise, this Eraser Concealer requires a lot of blending which I feel sheers the product out too much on the skin. I end up having to go back for more. While I don’t mind building up the coverage, after several attempts it can being to look cakey and  it starts to dry out the under-eye area. I’ve read on the blogospehere that this a medium-full coverage concealer. Personally I would class this as light-medium coverage. I don’t think it delivers on the coverage required for my under-eye area. Perhaps if the shade was correct for my skin tone I wouldn’t have this problem.

That said, if I have fake tan on and I’m using a darker foundation, this stuff works much better. It is marketed as an under-eye concealer but I also use it on my (millions of) spots and it does works well concealing them and the surrounding redness. I usually use my ring finger to blend after applying it with the built in sponge applicator. I know a lot of people hate this aspect of the concealer. Yes, it is slightly unhygienic and a bit of a gimic, but other than that I think it distributes the product well. To use, simply twist the bottle below the sponge. Caution to first time users, it will take a lot of twisting for the product to come to the surface so just check you don’t over twist and end up with a lot of concealer on the sponge. The concealer is housed in a plastic glass effect bottle. It’s quite like a mini foundation! I like the packaging as I can see the product and it’s simple, with no fuss, bar the sponge applicator.

I do like this concealer although I don’t feel like it’s lived up to the major hype. Maybelline’s Instant Anti-Age The Eraser Eye concealer is (a mouthful to say) an overall good concealer. If the shade range was improved in Ireland and the UK, I think this concealer could be up there with the best of them.

It’s on sale now for £7.99 in most chemists and drugstores…if you can find it!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

