Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation|Review|

Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation

Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation Packaging

Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation Swatch, 100 Ivory

Usually what spurs me on to buy a product is one of two things. 1) I run out of it or, 2) A friend or a good review persuades me to buy it. On this occasion, the Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation was lying in my friend’s makeup bag. In a rush on a spur of the moment casual night out, I topped up my foundation with her bottle of this stuff, which she says she really liked. Feeling like I didn’t give it a proper go and mostly liking it, I bought my own.

I weirdly like the tube packaging. The thing that gets me is that the tube holds 30 mls of product. The majority of foundations I own are in glass or glass-effect cylindrical bottles, making them look like there is loads of product inside. It’s been years since I’ve used a mousse formula foundation. Most likely circa 2007/2008 when the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse foundation was a teen favourite! It would be unfair to compare the two here since I haven’t used the Dream Matte Mousse in so long, but the Stay Matte has a similar texture only with less bubbles and better user-friendly packaging. Seeing as this is a high-street brand, I thought the decal would rub off the tube but so far it’s lasting well and is easily cleaned. Thumbs up in the hygiene department.

Rimmel claim that this foundation “minimises the appearance of pores”, gives you a “baby-soft finish” and “won’t feel heavy or greasy”.  I don’t feel like this dramatically reduces the appearance of pores. The foundation is definitely light weight on the skin. It doesn’t look cakey and is so easy to blend. I like to use a face brush or my hands to apply this. A little goes a long way, I always managed to squeeze out too much. It applies matte and I’d say without topping this up with powder I got about 7-8 hours of matte-ness. After this though I find my skin goes quite shiny and slightly greasy so it requires some powder.

I picked up the shade Ivory 100 which is sadly too dark for me. It was the lightest shade available in most of the shops I’ve been in. The Rimmel and Boots websites have advertised that there are 5 shades available with one lighter than 100 Ivory, so I think I’ll grab the lighter one if I come across it. I really like the coverage and feel of this product on the skin. When applying to dry skin I recommend heavily moisturising before hand. If you skip this step it will cling slightly to any dry patches.

The Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation is on sale now for £5.99 or €7.95.

What do you think? Leave a Reply

